This is the first challenge of Love-a-thon 2017 and it involves coming up with something for each of the prompts below and then filling them into the story to create your own crazy fairy tale! I can remember doing these as a child so I’m really looking forward to this throwback and I can’t wait to see how my story turns out.

Here are the prompts! 

1. LOCATION – Italian restaurant 

2. CHARACTER (example: assassin) trainee hairdresser

3. TYPE OF STORE newsagents 

4. BODY PART (plural) toes

5. ITEM mop

6. ROYALTY (any title you can think of) Princess 

7. REPEAT ITEM FROM #5. Mop

8. ACTIVE VERB (example: running) strolling

9. ANOTHER LOCATION radish farm

10. AN EMOTION hanger 

11. MUSICAL INSTRUMENT tambourine 

12. PIECE OF FOOD dumpling

13. NUMBER 12

14. TYPE OF HOUSE terraced house 

15. VOICE ADJECTIVE gravelly 

16. DESCRIBE A SOUND (ending with –ing) creaking 

17. ROOM IN A HOUSE kitchen

18. OBJECTS door knobs

19. DESCRIBE AN OUTFIT a stunning ball gown of the deepest crimson, sparkling with the light a thousand tiny crystals 

20. INFINITIVE VERB, activity to dance 

21. REPEAT MUSICAL INSTRUMENT from #11 tambourine 

22. A JOB firefighter

Here is the fairytale you can fill in with your chosen words!

Once upon a time, in a far away Italian restaurant , there lived a smart trainee hairdresser. It lived alone in a newsagents, where it had grown up with the deceased owner. It had beautiful toes, and it was known for its shiny red mop, the only thing it had left of its parents.

Alas, the princess of the country became jealous and wanted to own this mop. So, it became a wanted person and had to flee into the forest to find a place to hide. After strolling around for hours, hungry and tired, it stumbled upon a radish farm.An old lady appeared, offering it shelter from the bitter cold. She looked at it with hanger and said: “I will protect you, but I need your help first. Years ago I lost something precious and I want it back. You need to climb into the sky and get my tambourine back. Here is a magical dumpling, throw it into the earth, sprinkle with water and it will sprout a beanstalk. You have 12 days to return before the stalk withers.” 

It followed the instructions given to her, and lo and behold, a beanstalk grew and grew and grew all the way up to the clouds. After an exhausting climb, it saw a huge terraced house. It walked to the door and knocked. A gravelly voice said: ‘Fee-fi-fo-fum, who dares to come and enter my house?” It was not afraid and said: “My name is Jamie and I’ve come to collect an item.” 

The door made a/an creaking sound when it opened and revealed a large kitchen filled with golden door knobs. It stepped inside and walked towards the spiraling staircase, where a figure moved, cloaked in darkness.

 “Who are you? Step in to the light, so I can see your face.”

The beast growled angry. “Why did you come here? I just want to be left alone.” Still, it moved and stood in front of it. There were three horns on his head, and hair all over his face and his mouth was filled with large teeth. He wore a stunning ball gown of the deepest crimson, sparkling with the light a thousand tiny crystals.

“What happened to you?” It reached out to touch one of the horns, but the beast flinched. “Many years ago I was cursed by a witch. I have one year left to dance so I can break the spell, but I’m not brave enough.”

“If you give me the mop, I will help you.”
In keeping its promise, the beast and it worked for a few hours and that afternoon, the beast transformed into an ordinary older guy. “I can’t wait to return to my job as a firefighter in the normal world. Can I come with you?” Together they climbed down the beanstalk, carrying the instrument for the old lady. The moment she saw the guy and her beloved instrument, she started to weep.
“My husband, you have returned!” They hugged and looked at it.

“We have to tell you something,” the old lady said. “You are our child. We were separated after the curse, but now we are reunited!” From that day, the three of them lived together in the forest, happily ever after.

 So, there we have it! My beautiful fairy tale! Did you do one too? How did yours turn out? Let me know in the comments! 

