1. What’s your name? Where in the world are you blogging from? I’m Emily and I’m blogging from the North of England.

2. Tell us your history with reading. Were you always a reader? Were you a reluctant reader? Was there a book that convinced you to become a reader? I’ve always been a keen reader from a young age because I’m in the lucky position of being part of a family that love reading. My grandmother was a librarian and I can remember as a young child going on trips to the library with her when we went to visit. Both my mum and auntie are also avid readers – and still both get from and give me book recommendations.

3. How did you get involved in the online book community? I’m not really sure. About two and a half years ago I was reading loads of book blogs and watching a lot of BookTube so I just decided to give it a go and start my own book blog one night when I was babysitting.

4. How did you choose your primary platform (blog, Instagram, YouTube, etc)? How did you come up with your blog name?
Again, I’m not really quite sure. I think for me , blogging seemed like the most realistic and easy way of sharing my love of books! I didn’t have a nice camera or any fancy filming equipment so I figured a blog was the best medium for me. How I came up with my name? I was babysitting one evening, and the kids had gone to bed. I’d been toying with the idea of book blogging for a while and decided just to go for it! Always Opinionated Girl was one of the few ideas I had and I reckoned it fit me and my personality pretty well so that was how my humble blog was born! 

5. What’s your favorite thing about the online book community? I can learn so much from them! In the past 2 and a half years the online book community has taught me so much! I’m a privileged middle class white straight girl and the online book community has helped me tolook beyond myself and think about bigger issues.

6. What sort of posts can readers expect from you? They can expect a whole array of things – from book reviews, to interviews, to discussion posts. I try to keep things varied and I don’t always talk just about books, I’ve talked about issues that come up in them too, for example feminism and mental health.

7. What book genres do you talk about most? I’m not sure I really have genres I talk about most. I only really talk about YA but I think I’m quite varied within YA as to which genres I read.

 

Favorites

1. Favorite food? Beverage? Food is probably chocolate and beverage would have to tea!


2. Favorite color?
Blue in almost any and every shade.


3. Favorite things to do apart from reading?
Probably sleep or eat!


4. Favorite tv shows?
Scorpion, Arrow, The Flash, Zoo, The Last Ship, Agent Carter, The Musketeers, Shadowhunters, The Shannara Chronicles, The Royals. Is that enough?


5. Favorite movies?
This is a tricky one! I like so many different films, how I can pick just a few to list here? I’ll just have to go with the first few that pop into my head – The Da Vinci Code, Mulan, the Harry Potter series, Big Hero 6, and so many more! 


6. Favorite musical artists?
I don’t really have favourite artists, as I like a range of stuff. I more like individual songs than whole albums from an artist.


7. Favorite places to shop?
Online! It means I can do it in my pyjamas and have a cup of tea at the same time.

 

Book Talk

1. Favorite childhood books? I can remember adoring Enid Blyton as a child. Malory Towers, The Famous Five, The Secret Seven. She was definitely my favourite author as a child and I devoured everything I could by her.


2. Favorite books read in the last five years?
How on earth do you expect me to be able to pick that? I struggle to pick a top ten books for each year, so you’re looking at 50 books at least. The other dilemma is that before I started blogging I didn’t record the books I read, I’m sorry but I’m unable to answer this question.


3. Favorite genres?
YA. After that, I’m not too picky. I don’t like horror or anything too gory but other than that. I like contemporary, fantasy, paranormal and historical and everything else in between.


4. Underrated book, series or author you love?
I loved both Taylor Longford and her Greystone Series and Quinn Loftis’ Grey Wolves series. Both are indie authors and write funny, entertaining YA novels which I would definitely recommend!


5. A book you want to see made into a film or tv show?
I think I’m going to go with The Revenge Playbook, a feminist book I read last year and absolutely adored. As it has different storylines weaving together to make one big plot, I feel like it would transfer very well into a TV show.

6. Book boyfriend/girlfriend? Book BFF? Book family? Wow, you guys are packing no punches with the questions this year! I don’t know how I can possibly pick just one book family or boyfriend or BFF! The one thing I can say is that Hermione would be one of my closest friends because she is genuinely one of my all time favourite book characters.

7. Books you want to read in 2017? I want to read a whole lot of books in 2017, including quite a few 2016 releases that I didn’t get round to last year such as A Study in Charlotte, Lady Midnight and more. My full list can be found here.

