Nights outlights out

Looking at my bookshelves the other day, I noticed that some of my books have really similar covers, so I thought that I’d play a game of snap with the books I own.

My first pair, which sparked this entire idea of matching book covers are:

Before I Fall and Before I Die

Both of these books have a teenage girl, lying by herself in the grass and at first glace do look almost identical, particularly because they have similar titles beginning with ‘Before I’. I’ve only read one of these books, but I’m interested to see if they have similar themes as well as similar covers.

My next set of similar covers are:

Finding Sky and Shiver

This pair aren’t quite as close as the first pair, but I feel like they have similar graphics themes going on. They both have leaves and branches, that part in the middle for the title. I adore this style of cover because it’s so simple yet really attractive and eye catching, especially since they are both black and white with one small splash of red.

Pair number three of matching book covers is:

Beautiful  Broken Things and Rebel of the Sands

At first glance, these two don’t seem that alike in comparison to the first two pairs, but in reality, both of these book covers have eye catching, gorgeous gold foil that points inwards to the title. If I could have two books framed as pictures on my wall, I’d definitely pick these two because they are serious works of art! Well done to whoever designed these covers, you did good!

My fourth snap! is:

Perks of Being a Wallflower and Lois Lane: Fallout

From the pictures, these two don’t look at all alike but in reality, behind the image of the girl, the background is text from the novel, like in the Perks of Being a Wallflower cover. I think that is a really cool idea and really makes a cover unique to its book.

The next pair of matching covers are:

Flawed and The Fire

The main link between these two cover is the large F that is symbolic for the book and dominates the cover. It immeadiately draws the eye in both cases and although the covers are almost opposites, you can clearly see the similarity. Both take a similar idea but put their own spin on it which I think is cool.

The penultimate pair of covers are:

Starcrossed and Across the Universe

These two both involve a couple about to kiss, leaning towards each other, with a dramatic background, either space or fire. Though the couples are at different orientations, the ideas behind both covers are similar, with the figures being almost outlines, creating a sense of mystery and the background setting the scene.

Last, but not least, the matching pair are:

The Hunger Games and Legend

Both books are dystopians and have links to rebellion so I really like the idea of a simple cover, with one solid colour and then the symbol. Sometimes less is more and that is definitely true in both of these cases. It makes the cover look really dramatic and instantly draws the eye.

So there we go! The 7 pairs of books off my shelves that I think match! Let me know if you can think of any other pairs, I’d love to hear your thoughts.

