Since we’re a quarter of the way through the year, I’ve decided to look back at my New Year’s resolutions when it came to books and blogging and see how I’m doing so far.

Read 64 books – So far I’ve read 11 books, which Goodreads says makes me 6 books behind schedule but I always knew this was going to happen. I know I’m going to get very behind, but I’m hoping to catch up over the summer holidays.

Read 3 classics – I haven’t read a classic yet this year, but I’m determined to achieve this goal and I even have some classics on my shelf to choose from. However since I’ve only read 11 books, I’m not that surprise that none of them are classics.

Join in with some reading challenges – I joined a challenge where I’m trying to read more books that I already own instead of new buys, ARCS or preorders. I was aiming to read at least one older book per month but out of the 11 books I’ve read so far in 3 months, only 2 fit in this category so technically I’m behind but I’m confident I can complete this challenge.

Request ARCs sensibly and read and review them in time – I haven’t requested any ARCS specifically however I have been sent some by authors and publishers and I must confess to not having read them all or even reviewed all the ones I have read. That reminds me I really should get on that!

Review half the books I read this year – So far this year I’ve written 6 reviews, but 2 of them are for books I read in 2015 so technically don’t count. That means I’ve written 4 review for 11 books read which isn’t terrible, but I’m going to try and do better to reach my goal.

Post twice a week – I have already majorly failed at this one by having an almost month long blogging slump where I barely posted. so far this year I have posted 24 posts, which is just under 2 a week and to be honest I’m not that optimistic I’ll manage to succeed at this during exams but I’ll just have to try and schedule posts.

Always reply to comments – I keep getting behind on this one, but I’m trying to catch up and I’m always aiming to reply to everyone’s comments so if I haven’t got to yours yet, thank you, sorry and I’ll get there. Every comment means the world to me, but often I don’t have time to reply straight away and then end up with a backlog. This is a problem I’m going to solve.

Join in with blogging events – I’ve joined in with 2 bloggiestas as well as the Love-a-thon so far so I think I’m doing pretty well at this goal. I’m looking forward to doing even more in the rest of the year though, because I just love blogging events.

You can check out my original New Year’s Resolutions post here.

