walk the edge

One moment of recklessness will change their worlds.

Smart. Responsible. That’s seventeen-year-old Breanna’s role in her large family, and heaven forbid she put a toe out of line. Until one night of shockingly un-Breanna-like behavior puts her into a vicious cyber-bully’s line of fire—and brings fellow senior Thomas “Razor” Turner into her life.

Razor lives for the Reign of Terror motorcycle club, and good girls like Breanna just don’t belong. But when he learns she’s being blackmailed over a compromising picture of the two of them—a picture that turns one unexpected and beautiful moment into ugliness—he knows it’s time to step outside the rules.

And so they make a pact: he’ll help her track down her blackmailer, and in return she’ll help him seek answers to the mystery that’s haunted him—one that not even his club brothers have been willing to discuss. But the more time they spend together, the more their feelings grow. And suddenly they’re both walking the edge of discovering who they really are, what they want, and where they’re going from here.

I know it sounds cliché but I don’t even know where to begin. I thought Katie McGarry had really outdone herself with Nowhere But Here, but she managed to top that with Walk the Edge! I read this book in 4 hours straight this afternoon, mere minutes after I bought it on my kindle and I just have SO many feelings.

I was so glad to return to Snowflake, but with another perspective, that of someone who has lived their entire life and wants desperately to escape. In this book, we get to see more about everyday life for the people of Snowflake, particularly as lots of the book takes place in the high school. As well as these new locations, there were some obviously recognisable ones from the first book, like the cabin and clubhouse. I love the vivid imagery that Katie McGarry manages to create as she paints pictures of the forest and the bridge, I always feel as if I’m stood right next to them.

As well as getting a closer look at characters we’d been introduced to before, in particular, Razor, I loved the introduction of Breanna, her family and friends. Breanna was such a quirky character, who was fighting battles of her own that were real and relatable. It was nice to have some variety rather than the typical, cliché motorcycle club drama, that would make this book seem like a copy of the first one. As well as Breanna herself, I loved her family dynamic which was messed up and difficult and at times tricky to stomach, but at the end of the day went on a journey, where it came out better than it started. It is impressive for an author to show progression in the main characters but the entire cast of secondary of characters. Katie McGarry seems to have a special talent for creating the most amazing characters that appear to walk straight off the page. I thought I loved Oz and Emily but I was even more smitten by Razor and Breanna. They just mesh together so well and were working together whilst fighting their own individual battles.

In regards to the plot, it was good that there was the recurring theme of the Riot, but without it being all-consuming because though it was relevant to Razor, it wasn’t important for Breanna. This book mainly focuses on the impact of bullying, in particular cyber bullying and how one photo can affect everything as well as looking into the mystery of Razor’s mother’s death.

Overall, I just have to say that this book was amazing and I would recommend it to everyone. Breanna and Razor are now one of my favourite fictional couples because they balance each other perfectly and really made me laugh at times, whilst being fiercely loyal to each other, not letting anything get in their way.

This book just made me more excited for the final instalment of the series, as both Violet and Chevvy’s stories have been building up and getting increasingly messy so I’m curious to see where that one goes. Their story already begun a long time ago, so I can’t wait to see how it ends.

Have you read Walk the Edge? If so, what did you think?

