Lois Lane is starting a new life in Metropolis. An Army brat, Lois has lived all over—and seen all kinds of things. (Some of them defy explanation, like the near-disaster she witnessed in Kansas in the middle of one night.) But now her family is putting down roots in the big city, and Lois is determined to fit in. Stay quiet. Fly straight. As soon as she steps into her new high school, though, she can see it won’t be that easy. A group known as the Warheads is making life miserable for another girl at school. They’re messing with her mind, somehow, via the high-tech immersive videogame they all play. Not cool. Armed with her wit and her new snazzy job as a reporter, Lois has her sights set on solving this mystery. But sometimes it’s all a bit much. Thank goodness for her maybe-more-than-a friend, a guy she knows only by his screenname, SmallvilleGuy.

fallout

I wanted to read Fallout because when I read the blurb, I was immediately intrigued by the idea of a book about Lois Lane before she met Superman. I must confess that I’m not an avid Superman fan and I think I’ve only ever watched one Superman film. However I do know the idea of Lois Lane and I was interested to see who she would be if you removed Superman.

If the premise isn’t good enough, check out the cover-it is so cool. It’s eye catching at first glance and then when you look closer, you can see as well as the epic graphics of the girl with cool hair and sunglasses, that the background of the the cover is text from the novel which is original and totally awesome. I’m definitely in love with this cover!

I don’t know what I was expecting from Lois, but it certainly wasn’t this. She was a sassy, determined teenage journalist, with a nose for the truth and a desperation to help her friends. She was by no means incomplete without Superman and was in fact the hero of her story. I really enjoyed reading her story.

The plot was really interesting, with an intriguing mystery to be solved by Lois and her team of journalists. Though I must confess at times it felt a little like this novel was a set up for the rest of the series, I liked that the novel focused on Lois Lane becoming a journalist and through that she ended up getting involved a high tech mystery.

I’m eager to see what happens next in Lois Lane’s adventures. I really hope that Gwenda ends up writing the part when Lois Lane discovers Superman and his powers, because so far, there have only been subtle references to him. I look forward to the next book.

Overall, I’d give a 4 out of 5 because I really enjoyed it, but I did feel like it was a set up novel at times

