These are my top ten books of 2015, in no particular order. I decided not to include any 2016 ARCS, so despite the fact some of those books were amazing, they will not be appearing on this year’s list – perhaps next year’s instead!

A Court of Thorns and Roses

acotar

I love Sarah J. Maas and I loved this book even more than the Throne of Glass series. She has such a talent for writing fantasy! The world she creates is so vibrant and real, that when combined with an intriguing plot and fantastic characters, this book is impossible to put down. I am eagerly awaiting the next book, because I can’t wait to see what happens to Feyre, Tamlin and Lucien!

Carry On

carry on cover

I wasn’t sure how this one was going to turn. as Rainbow Rowell isn’t a fantasy author, but she conquered this genre with the same talent and lovable characters that she used to take over contemporary. This book has wonderful hints of Harry Potter that immensely pleased the Potterhead within me, whilst also being completely unique and brand new. I adored the characters and the settings and the spells and basically everything!

Rites of Passage

wpid-wp-1420145878808.jpeg

This was the first book I read in 2015 and I’m so glad I started the year on such a high. I loved this book so much, that I’m debating rereading to welcome in 2016. This book is about the nitty gritty reality of being a girl in a Military Academy. I love the main character Sam and completely admire her strength and determination. It is a powerful novel that explores the harsh truth of sexism in the military, whilst also containing hints of adorable romance.

Nowhere But Here

nbh

I loved how this novel didn’t focus solely on romantic love, but also on family, an entirely underrepresented area in YA. This novel showed you don’t have to be related to be family but families are the most powerful forces out there. I loved the romance between Emily and Oz, they were so cute and I also loved the setting of a motorcycle club.

The DUFF

the duff

I read this book back in April, as the film was out. I’m so glad the film motivated me to read the book, as this book made me laugh out loud whilst also managing to tackle tricky teenage issues, such as sex, self esteem, and friendships. The characters were great as I wanted a Wes of my own and I could really relate to Bianca and her friends.

Trouble

trouble

I wasn’t sure if I was going to like this book, but I loved it! This book tackles the tough issue of teenage pregnancy and how it affects every area of a girl’s life. It made me think and really brought facts to life, with well written 3D characters, some of which I loved and some I wanted to slap. This book really helped to get me addicted to contemporary novels and I’m so glad I read it.

My Life Next Door

my life next door

One of my favourite things about this book is the Garrett family – I love them all and if I could I’d go and live with them.  Families are something which are entirely underrepresented in YA novels so it made me so happy to read about this great one! And the Garrett family weren’t the only one portrayed in this book. The fact that multiple different family types, rather than just one was portrayed made this book even more impressive. As well as the diversity of families, this book had an adorable romance that isn’t to be missed.

The Winner’s Curse

the winners curse

This one was unexpected for me. I picked it up on a whim at a bookshop and I really enjoyed it. This book is a bit of an unusual one, I think officially it is classified as fantasy, but it is unlike any fantasy I have ever read.  The premise was really unique and the characters were great. I am very much looking forward to getting my hands on the second book in the new year.

Emmy and Oliver

emmy and oliver

This book was the perfect combination of cute romance and family problems. I think it’s really tough for a contemporary YA book to deal with difficult topics without it becoming an issues book that’s entirely focused on the issue and nothing else. This book handles the kidnapping of Oliver by his dad, very sensitively, never making judgements, simply showing all of the various people’s different views and how it impacted their lives. For me, this is the best way for a novel to explore an issue as if the other comes across as opinionated and judgemental, it can be difficult for reader to enjoy.

Am I Normal Yet?

am i normal yet

I have raved all over Twitter about this book. I love it so much! To put it simply, it’s about friends, feminism and mental health. This book really helped me to start a dialogue among book bloggers, even leading to a survey on people’s experiences of mental health education. Holly Bourne has managed to give a voice to those who usually sit silent. This book is pure brilliance and I’m so grateful for it!

So there you go! My top ten of 2015!

 

 

