Today, I am interviewing the lovely Brodie, Wattpad author of A Rose As Black As Your Heart.

After the death of her beloved father, 16 year old Alexis Rivera is sent to England to get over her sadness and turn into the sassy, sarcastic girl everyone knew, but didn’t exactly love. Once in England, the place where her brother Matt lives and her father died, Alexis meets the scorchingly hot Daniel, who coaxes her back to her normal self with his teasing character and mysterious dark side.
While struggling to reign in her growing feelings for Daniel, Alexis, begins to discover things about the town that aren’t quite right; the mysterious hot boys (Daniel included), the terrified townsfolk, a collection of old dusty books she found miles away from her new home but that all seem to link to her…
and with the fact that she’s slowly falling in love with Daniel and his mysterious dark edge, Alexis is in for a lot of trouble.

a rose as black

I’ve been writing books pretty much all my life – the first ‘book’ I wrote, on my sixth birthday, was about 3 A5 pages long, and was a remake of snow white, because I didn’t like the fact that she married a complete stranger. I’m proud to say that even then I was a bit of a feminist.
Since then, I have written more stories than I can count, though hopefully they’ve improved in quality since the snow white remake. I usually write supernatural, dystopian or fantasy teenfiction, often with elements of romance, though I try to avoid the cliches when possible (and I still love the odd fairytale remake). I can’t say I’ve won many awards in my short life, and I definitely haven’t had anything published, but I once got a certificate for Best Story award in my class when I was 12 (damn, I miss Year 7) and I won the English cup in Year 6… so that’s got to count for something, right?

What are some of your favourite books on Wattpad?

Damn that’s a difficult one, too many good ones to choose… I remember being obsessed by ‘Tame My Heart’ by Nessie64, so that will always hold a soft spot for me… ‘A touch of Poison’, ‘The Black Prince’ by stand_in_the_rain, and various books by JordieXx and Fallzswimmer

What are some of your favourite books off Wattpad?

Many… any and all Harry Potter books, The Lunar Chronicles, Chaos Walking series, ‘A thousand splendid suns’ by Khaled Hosseini, to name a few

How long have you been writing/ on Wattpad?

I joined just over 4 years ago 🙂

Why do you like Wattpad?

Mostly, the people. I think this website attracts only lovely people, because everyone I’ve ever talked to on here is always kind and unique and wonderful 🙂

How do you get ideas for your stories?

I get ideas from literally anything. Books I read, music I listen to, things I see in day to day life, conversations I overhear. My latest inspiration came from a really awesome christmas card.

Which scene from your books did you enjoy writing the most?

I LOVE writing dramatic fight scenes, especially with plenty of gore 🙂 having said that, I also love writing dialogue between two characters that really click; the words always seem to flow really easily when you have characters like that, as if I’m listening into their conversation rather than making it up in my head. One of my favourite examples is Alex and Luna from LTMWP 🙂

What advice would you give to aspiring authors?

READ a lot. WRITE a lot. And please God have faith in your work, because losing confidence in a book you’re writing is one of the worst feelings ever. If you’re writing something you personally would want to read, I can guarentee there are others out there who want to read it too 🙂

What is your favourite thing about writing?

I think it’s the freedom. I have this whole new world in my head where anything can happen if I want it to (I’m aware that this is making me sound like a creepy dictator. I’m not, I swear) It’s just a really good way to relax.

Would you recommend Wattpad?

Definitely. I think it’s brilliant for anyone who loves reading, writing, etc. I know it’s helped me massively.

How has your writing developed/ how do you think Wattpad has helped you improve as a writer?

Oh hey, I started answering the next question already 😛 I definitely have so much more confidence now than I used to, after all the wonderful comments I’ve had.

Have you had any criticism/unkindness and if so how did you deal with that?

Actually, very little – like I said, this website is full of lovely people 😛 I think someone once said that they found one of my characters annoying, and I was kind of like “Whaaat? How DARE you” (mostly internally) since my characters are my babies, but at the end of the day, people are allowed to have their own opinions, and who really cares?? So I think I just ignored the comment 🙂

Anything else you would like to add?

I reckon that’s enough about me for now 🙂 thanks though, this was really good fun!! 🙂 Xx

Thank you so much Brodie! I would definitely recommend everyone joins Wattpad, just to check out her book. It’s amazing.

