Today I am featuring the lovely Carlisa from Confessions of Carlisa, who is sharing with us some of her favourite quotes from books. Let’s begin!


I love quotes and words and everything in between. Seriously, they’re my favorite just because of their power. Words are literally just ink on a page or perhaps pixels on a screen. They are arbitrary. The different letters have no significance by themselves…but strung together in words and sentences and paragraphs and books…they can do amazing things. They can evoke very real emotions and move people to action. They bring about images in your head. And that’s amazing. So here are some of my favorite quotes from books. Enjoy them…because I do.

  • “Verily, that way lies our hope, where sits our greatest fear.” -Tolkien in The Two Towers
  • “It matters not what someone is born, but what they grow to be.” -J.K. Rowling from Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire
  • “Belief isn’t simply a thing for fair times and bright days, I think. What is belief–what is faith–if you don’t continue in it after failure?” -Brandon Sanderson in Mistborn
  • “There is nothing like a dream to create the future.” -Victor Hugo in Les Misérables
  • “Her heart did whisper, that he had done it for her.” -Jane Austen in Pride and Prejudice (This one isn’t so inspiring as it just warms my heart and makes me anxiously wait for the day I will fall in love)
  • “Nothing’s ever the same. Be it a second or a hundred years. It’s always churning and roiling. And people change as much as oceans.” -Neil Gaiman in The Ocean at the End of the Lake
  • “They’re the reason I love to tell stories. It doesn’t matter how often they’ve heard it, or that they already know what will happen next. A story is a story. It takes you away from what you’re doing and how you’re living right then, and whisks you away into someone else’s world.” -Shari Arnold in Neverland 
  • “Mercy breeds mercy as slaughter breeds slaughter. We can’t expect the world to be better than we make it.” -Laini Taylor in Days of Blood and Starlight
  • “It’s like being in love, discovering your best friend.” -Elizabeth Wein in Code Name Verity 
  • “There comes a time when the world gets quiet and the only thing left is your own heart. So you’d better learn the sound of it. Otherwise you’ll never understand what it’s saying.” -Sarah Dessen in Just Listen

About Her

I am currently nineteen years of age and studying at Brigham Young University in Provo, Utah. I am studying my favorite thing: words. Aka, English. I’m also minoring in Editing and Digital Humanities. I am from the corny state of Indiana, and before that, the cheesy state of Wisconsin. Haha, I’m cheesy and corny. I like that.

I love to do all things creative: write, read (a lot), finger paint, play piano, sing in the shower, chase butterflies, long walks at sunset, dance around the kitchen, pin crafts that maybe I’ll actually do someday, dream, Just Dance 2015, sled, make sandcastles, bake, obstacle courses in my bedroom (aka never clean my room), play with my puppy, sew (surprisingly, I have a gross story with that one), tickle fights, watch funny YouTube videos, play with kids, card/board games, creatively find ways to avoid doing homework/chores, write book reviews, try to make a list of creative things to do (…). Basically, I do it all. Just kidding. But being creative is what motivates me. I find inspiration in it and I find happiness in it.

