Welcome to day 4 of Blog Olympics! I’ve had a great time so far and I hope of you athletes have too. Just to keep you up to date on what’s happened so far, I’ll give you a quick summary.

Day 1:

Day 2:

Day 3:

Now, for today!

Today, I am hosting a discussion on what makes a classic classic?

I mean, everyone can name at least 5 classics and if you’re like me, has pledged to read more at some point and failed. But what connects these books? The most obvious answer is they’re old, but millions of books have been written in the past, why have only certain candidates made it to the honoured status as classic?

So, my questions for you today are:

What makes a classic classic?

What books written in the 21st Century do you think will one day be classics?

How do you feel about classics?

Please join in the discussion either in the comments, by writing your own blog post or by tweeting about it at #BOClassic.

So, let the discussion begin!

P.S. Keep an eye out for a competition later today with the possibility of winning a signed copy of Nowhere But Here (US only)

Emily @ Always Opinionated Girl and An Overthinking Teenager

