First off, I joined into with the #ArmchairBEA Twitter chat this afternoon and had an absolute blast. I had a lot of fun discussing today’s topics, won a prize and even made some new friends. I now look forward to participating in many more Twitter chats in the future.

I decided to write a letter to my all time favourite character to address today’s task.

Dear Hermione,

I’ll like to begin with a sincere thank you. I don’t know what I would have done without you. You are inspiration to me and to thousands of girls and boys all across the world.

I’ve always been the nerdy one. The first one with their hand up, the one who does their homework on the night they get it, the one who spends all their time in the library. And thanks to you I am proud of this fact. I don’t hide from who I am and instead embrace it. However I don’t let it limit me. Like you, I hope to be strong, brave, intelligent, determined and unapologetically myself. Usually female characters have to choose between being strong and being feminine. You aren’t having any of that. You looked absolutely stunning and danced beautifully at the Yule Ball but punched Draco and kicked Death Eater butt. Yes, I’m proud of my intelligence, but I don’t want to be just intelligent. I want to be strong, brave and determined too.

Certainly you made mistakes, especially when it came to boys. Though I don’t blame you when it comes to Ron. You two are perfect together, but I can imagine he’s quite hard work at times. I’m glad you two stuck together, I mean I know it’s not always easy. But if it was easy, would it be worth it? Lots of people tend to complain about Viktor Krum, but I don’t blame you in the slightest. He is famous, good looking and quite a nice guy. Besides at that point, Ron had been fooling around with other girls. Never mind, I’m getting slightly off track here. I just wanted to write this to say how much you mean to me. I am so lucky to be part of the generation that grew with you.

Thank you again.
Emily @ Alwaysopinionatedgirl

