image

Book bloggers unable to attend the BEA Bloggers Conference or Book Expo America (BEA) in New York City, but would like to ‘meet’ other book bloggers and publishers to discuss books and book blogging can participate in this virtual event. Armchair BEA has been run by book bloggers on a volunteer basis since 2010, although giveaways are sponsored by authors and publishers.

Here are the five questions I have chosen to answer as my intro too Armchair BEA.

Why do you loving reading and blogging?

I cannot even remember when I began to love reading, it has always been such an important part of my life. I often joke it’s genetic as both my mum and my auntie also adore to read. Reading has been an escape for me. I can have my own little world away form what’s happening in my life.
Blogging is a relatively new discovery for me as I haven’t even been blogging for a year yet. However I already know exactly why I love it, it’s a fantastic community where I can be myself and be surrounded by like minded people. As well as making loads of new great blogging buddies, I have also got opportunities I never would have before and discovered a whole new section of the internet which is such a beautiful place.

What does diversity mean to you?

To me, diversity means that everyone in the world should be able to open up a book and see a main character just like them. I’m very lucky because I am a middle class, white, heterosexual, female teenager, meaning I am pretty well represented. And that’s great for me! I love it! So why shouldn’t everyone else be able to experience the same thing?
Diversity both excites me and terrifies me, I must confess. As a reader diversity excites me however as a writer diversity does tend to scare me. As I have clarified above, I myself am not particularly diverse so I’m scared about writing about diversity in my books in case I mess up. I mean, I don’t want to wrongly represent these people.

What is one book everyone should read?

I’m going to cheat and say seven, but they’re a series so… I think you can all guess what series I’m talking about, Harry Potter, of course. Now most people agree with me and say they’re entertaining and that certainly is true. However they are not solely entertaining, they taught me so many important life lessons about friendship, family, bravery and many more. I grew up with Harry, Ron and Hermione despite the fact that all the books had been released by the time I started reading them. They were an important part of my childhood, are an important part of my teenagehood (what’s the right word for this? Anyone know?) and will be an important part of my adulthood.

What is your favourite genre and why?

I would probably just have to say YA as I really can’t decide within that. I think it often depends on my mood – currently I’m really looking contemporaries like The Heartbreakers and Nowhere But Here which is quite unusual for me. Traditionally I like fantasy and paranormal however recently I’ve fallen in love with contemporaries. I think this probably due to the excitement surrounding contemporary novels in the book blogging world.

What is the top book in your TBR pile?

Since I had such a huge TBR pile, I decided to reorganise and make myself a TBR bookshelf. This bookshelf is arranged in rainbow order, going from red to white ands it looks so beautiful. I’m so proud of new book shelf and I can’t wait to share the pictures with you guys which will be coming soon. So, finally answering the question I guess the first book of my TBR shelf is Ketchup Clouds By Annabel Pitcher which I hope to read before YALC.

