Love’s like a bullet. It’s fast. It’s furious. Sometimes you can’t see it coming. You can run from it. But you can’t dodge it. Unless someone stands in your way…”

Growing up, Callie Tollson had always admired her older brother, Clay, for being exactly who he wanted to be…despite the consequences he faced doing so. With their roles reversed, Callie had always been the one to stand up for Clay when he was in harm’s way. She always thought this was enough. She thought she was able to protect him.

That is until he turned the tables and unleashed harm back on those who had done it to him.

She couldn’t understand why, being the one who stood up for him the most, she was the one he picked as the receiver for the final bullet in his gun.

Now she’s the most feared girl in school with a haunting family tie to keep her stuck in the halls of Riverton High. As she tries to survive the rest of her junior year as the sister of the boy who brought a gun to school, she soon realizes she owes nothing to the boy who turned on her and everything to the boy who saved her life.

Welcome! Today I would like to introduce you to Jessice Teske, the Wattpad author who wrote Bullet (blurb above).  Here’s a quick author biography written by her.

bullet

Hi, I’m Jess! I work with pets for a living. In my free time, I enjoy going to as many concerts as possible. I have a love for gripping novels, Dunkin iced coffee and attending shows to see my favorite rock bands.
Let’s start straight away with the questions then:

What are some of your favourite books on Wattpad?

That’s such a hard question! Especially because I haven’t read anything on Watt in a really long time. If I really had to pick, it would be: The Cool Kids and Bad Enough For You (both by berceuses), Have A Little Hope by Phoebe Gardens, Bringing Back Hallie by ThisGirlWrites and Keep Holding On by MarriahJustine.
What are some of your favourite books off Wattpad?
Oh! This is a little bit easier haha. Some would be: My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick, Second Chance Summer, Since You’ve Been Gone and Amy And Roger’s Epic Detour all by Morgan Matson.
How long have you been writing/ on Wattpad?
3 years. But I was on a site called Booksie for a while before that.
Why do you like Wattpad?
I’ve always liked writing outlets that allowed you to publish your own work and have others all around the world read it. It’s invigorating reading all the sweet comments and such from people all over the place.
How do you get ideas for your stories?
Randomly. There’s no specific way I come up with ideas. I’ll hear a song or be brushing my freaking teeth and it just pops into my mind. A random idea. And then I sort of run with it from there.
Which scene from your books did you enjoy writing the most?
The crazy ones! Or the kiss scenes. Like with Bullet, some of my favorite scenes were when Clay was being crazy. I just liked developing his character. But sometimes I love writing the romantic scenes.
What advice would you give to aspiring authors? 
Keep reading AND writing! You learn from both. You learn from the authors and you learn from yourself. I always find myself building on what I already know as I read more from published authors and even amazing authors on Watt, but also as I write more, too. I see what I like about my old works and what I don’t like and go from there.
What is your favourite thing about writing?
I love falling into a completely different world. I love developing characters. I fall in love with who I create. Sometimes when I end a novel, I find myself missing those characters when I go to write something else. I always want to bring them back. But mostly, I just love being able to create a world outside of my own.
Would you recommend Wattpad?
I think I would. Mostly because little old me was able to grow from a site like Booksie, where I had like ten fans who I talked to all of the time, to logging on and finding 6,000+ amazing people actually reading what I wrote. It’s crazy. But I love it also for the friends as well. I met one of my best friends on that site and some absolutely incredible people who are so supportive and kind all of the time. It’s a great community and there’s always a diamond to find in the rough.
How has your writing developed/ how do you think Wattpad has helped you improve as a writer?
I don’t think Wattpad helped me improve as a writer. I think I developed from my internet friends, yes, but through my own accord as well. I was reading A TON from different elements and writing all of the time when I actually was able to. I learned a lot about character development by reading books by Morgan Matson, or evoking emotion through your words. I think it also came from writing a lot more as well. I think at one point I was pumping out like three novels in a year but I wasn’t liking what I was putting out there. I look back on my old works and always find something to improve. I’m always looking to fix something in my works and I’m always doing my research.
Have you had any criticism/unkindness and if so how did you deal with that?
A lot actually. Especially when Bullet came out. I made it so people could form opinions about the characters and the events that happened. That’s what I wanted. Sometimes it’s hard for me to read some things that people say. A lot of the times, I just don’t bother responding to them. Once in a while I will, if someone says something that is wrong about my novel or something. But I just tell myself, “Everyone’s got their own opinions. Any person who creates something will always have different eyes on their works and different opinions.” Sometimes it’s not nice, sometimes is just constructive criticism. I say just roll with it. Ignore it. Believe in what you know, what you do best. And just remember, not EVERYONE is going to love it. But it’s about if YOU love it. It’s YOUR work.
Thanks so much for appearing on my blog, it was an absolute honour to have as part of Wattpad Wonders.
