Today I am lucky enough to be able to interview self-published author Taylor Longford. She is the author of a series of novels about gargoyles, the latest of which was released today and the first of which is free on Amazon, so go! Check it out!
Hi, I’m Taylor Longford. I might not have red hair like my heroine, MacKenzie Campbell, but I drive an old Jeep Cherokee just like she does. It has 325,000 miles on it and I’ve rolled it once but it still goes fast. If I can make a living as a writer, I’ll buy something a bit nicer and write more stories.
So, let’s start the questions.
Where do your ideas come from?
No idea. As far as I can tell, they just drop out of the sky.
Why gargoyles?
The word “gargoyle” comes from the French word for throat. When I discovered this fact, I started thinking about a race of people who were called gargoyles because of the runes they wore on their necks. One idea led to another and the Greystone Series was born.
What makes your books different?
They’re not VERY different, really. But I suppose the main thing is the fact that the gargoyles have talons that deliver a deadly poison to anyone who pisses them off. The same poison is also a part of their courting ritual as the gargoyles are driven to use it to mark the girl they love. This can get rather tricky. It requires the object of their affection to build up a resistance to the poison by taking it (diluted) in gradually increasing amounts.
Who is your favourite character that you have written about?
Havoc. He’s a laugh and a half.
What are some of your favourite books?
How much room do I have, hahaha? Okay, I’ll keep it short. Dawn Wind is probably my all time favorite, followed by all the Conan books. Then the Harry Potter Series, The Hunger Game Series, The Angus Thongs and Full Frontal Snogging Series, The Hitchiker’s Guide, The Colour of Magic.
Which authors do you most admire?
In no particular order: J. K. Rowling, Suzanne Collins, Rosemary Sutcliff, Robert E. Howard, Douglas Adams, Terry Pratchett, Louise Rennison and Beth Labonte.
Which books shaped you into the person you are today?
Robert E. Howard’s Conan the Barbarian Series. Not sure what that says about me…except that I don’t fit in, hahaha!
Why do you write?
I write to escape the daily grind. I have a hugely stressful job and work long hours. When I sit down to write, all of that goes away. It’s very relaxing.
What advice would you give to aspiring authors?
You really must write what you like and what you believe in. No matter how good a writer you are, you can’t pick a popular genre and try to crank out something that fits that genre. Because it won’t be sincere. And readers will pick up on that.
How did you get your books published?
I’m self-published. So I just type up my story in a word document then toddle off to Amazon and upload the document along with a cover. And voila! I’m published! It’s so easy!
What do you want to say to your fans?
To my small clan of fans, I just want to say thanks from the bottom of my heart. Without you guys, I would have given up after the third book. But my readers wouldn’t let me get away with that and I’m eternally grateful.
 Can you reveal Force’s cover?
force cover
 Thank you so much Taylor!
You can find Taylor Longford at:
