Girl About Time

I was recommended I read Girl About Time (or Ruby Red as she calls it) by Gwen from Gwenkate’s library. Thank you so much to her! I really enjoyed this book, it was exactly what I needed after reading quite a few heavy dystopian books. This book was to put it simply, good fun. If you are looking for a thought provoking or beautifully written book, this isn’t the book for you. But I enjoyed reading it and it made me smile. The only thing I regret is the fact I now have to wait ages to buy the next two books.

The main character Gwyneth’s normalness is great. I can really relate to her and would definitely like to be friends with her. She isn’t like your average heroine. She isn’t especially brave or strong or smart, she is perfectly average and that is refreshing.

There isn’t much action in this book, I feel as if this book was setting the scene for the next books. Despite the lack of action I enjoyed this book, it was a great summer read.

You Against Me

This is the second book by Jenny Downham that I have read this summer. I found this on my friend’s bookshelf, after thinking I wanted to read it because of the good things I had heard about it. Before I even talk about this book, I must say I love Jenny Downham’s writing style. If you are looking for beautiful prose, she is not the author for you, but she writes it like it is. Her writing is honest and realistic.

The characters in this book were great. I’m not saying I liked them all, but they were all great characters. None of them were perfect and none of them were evil. Even the one who has committed the crime isn’t completely evil, he has emotions like all the other characters. The plot of this story is fantastic and I love Mikey and Ellie’s relationship. This book carefully deals with the issue of rape, showing not only how it affected the victim and her family but also the assailant and his family. This book was genuinely amazing and so different to other books out there.

World After

After absolutely loving the first book by Susan Ee, I immediately bought Angelfall’s sequel. I was not disappointed. This book was just as great as Angelfall. The only thing that disappointed me was the lack of Raffe. I loved his and Penryn’s banter, but in this book he doesn’t show up until the last 20%.

This book is darker than the first book and is surprisingly gory for a YA book. I am not a big fan of gore, however I feel it was necessary in this book to really portray everything Penryn is going through, My love for Penryn has only grown as I read this book. She is an awesome character, who sometimes makes the wrong choices when she has to make tough choices. She is a complicated character, but she is willing to do anything for her family.

This book isn’t all doom and gloom though. This book made me laugh out when I was reading it on the London Underground, attracting some strange looks.

“I’ve mentioned that names have power, right?  Do you realize that when she fights battles, she’s going to have to announce herself to the opposing sword?  She’ll be forced to say something ridiculous like, ‘I am Pooky Bear, from an ancient line of archangel swords.’  Or, ‘Bow down to me, Pooky Bear, who has only two other equals in all the worlds.'”  He shakes his head.  “How is she going to get any respect?”

 

Now I am worried about how long I have to wait until the next book. It is due to be relased on the 14th of May 2015! How long away is that?! 😦

