The 5th Wave

This book was really good. I have had it on my book shelves for ages and only decided to read it recently because a friend told me they had really enjoyed it. I’m so glad she encouraged me to pick it up, as I read in about 3 days.

I love the characters in this book, especially Cassie who is so strong and determined. She has only one goal, she doesn’t want to save the world, just her little brother. This book is really original, recently there seems as of there have been an awful lot of seemly similar dystopian books, however this one definitely stands out.

The only the negative thing I can say about this book is that at the beginning the change of POVs was confusing, however it was really interesting to hear from different characters especially when they weren’t all in the same place. This book also has some great quotes and really makes you think about what it means to be human and what you would do to survive.

Before I die

As I was forewarned, this book did make me cry. Many people compare John Green’s The Fault in our Stars to this book and I must say I prefer The Fault in our Stars. Although that is not to say Before I die is not a good book, but I just found that I related to the character of Hazel more than I did Tessa.

However this book is very thought provoking and I love the fact that Tessa isn’t perfect. She’s scared of dying and she’s sometimes angry at her friends and family. She is confused and upset, yet despite the fact that she is dying, she embodies all that it means to be alive. She is one of the most beautifully complex characters I have read about in a while.

This book really helps to remind you how lucky you are to be alive. I would definitely recommend this book to any adult that wants to remember what it means to be young and alive and to any teenager who has also forgotten. I would recommend this book to anyone who has a soft spot for real, yet beautifully complex characters like I do.

