Thank you to Becky at Blog of a Bookaholic for giving me the opportunity to do this. Please check her out, her blog is awesome!

What are your top three book pet hates?

  1.  Books that are a slightly different size to your average book so they look awkward on the shelf.
  2.  Different covers on the same series of book. When the publisher randomly decides to change the cover design in the middle of the series so the boss you own don’t all match. (I know this is similar to what other people have said, but this genuinely annoys me!)
  3.  Books that have unrealistically happy endings. Not that I don’t enjoy it when I get a happy ending for a character I love, but it annoys me when (for example) there is a war and everyone on ‘Team Good’ survives and everyone evil dies. This does not happen in real life! I don’t want characters to die, but I grew out of fairytales a while back. I know not every story ends with ‘and they all lived happily ever after’.

Describe your perfect reading spot.

I’m happy to read in most places, I’m not picky. I just pull out a book anywhere. However my favourite place to read is either in my bed or on my massive beanbag. Both are super comfy and I love to read on them, snuggled up in a soft blanket in my pjs.

Tell us your three book confessions.

  1. I have a Kindle and like reading eBooks. (I don’t know why this is a confession, but most serious book lovers seem to frown upon e-readers.) I do prefer actual books, but books on e-readers are cheaper and e-readers are great to take on holiday when you read as much as I do.
  2. I like reading on Wattpad. Wattpad is where I can read books by unpublished authors  for free.
  3. I have never read a proper classic book, (although I am planning on reading To Kill a Mockingbird. Does that count as a classic?)

When was the last time you cried reading a book?

I do get quite emotional when I read books and it’s not uncommon for one lone tear to slide down my face as I read a book,  but the last time I properly cried reading a book, was when  I read the Fault in our Stars. If you have not read, then you must do so straight away. A heartbreakingly beautiful celebration of love, life and friendship.

How many books are on your bedside table?

That’s easy, none, because I don’t have a bedside table. I sleep in a high up bed with a desk and a sofa bed underneath so I am bedside tableless. On my desk, however I currently have two books, the French version of Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban which I am reading for the Language Freak Summer Challenge and Death Cure by James Dashner.

What is your favourite snack to eat while you’re reading?

Anything really, I don’t really eat that much when I’m reading, but I do, it has something I can eat with little concentration or effort needed on my part.

3 books I would recommend to anyone.

  1. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (after you have read the rest of the series of course! Just this book is favourite.)
  2. Anything by Enid Blyton. I absolutely loved her books as a child and I have her to thank for my love of reading. I remember particularly enjoying her Malory Towers series.
  3. The Hunger Games. Because Katniss was my first introduction to badass heroines in YA books.

Three words to describe what reading means to you.

There without fail. (Three words is really difficult!)

Show us a picture of your favourite shelf on your bookcase.

I don’t really have a favourite shelf, because my books are organised alphabetically by author’s surname. So here are two random shelves of my books.

My bookshelves

My bookshelves

Who are you tagging?

Anyone who wants to, just link me up so I can stalk you and find out about your reading habits.

